Eight VIS athletes selected in Australian Hockey squads for 2021

Eight Victorian Institute of Sport athletes have been named in both the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos squads for 2021 as they eye off Tokyo Olympic success.

Laura Barden, Amy Lawton, Sophie Taylor, Meg Pearce (WA) and Ashlee Wells (SA) were all named in the Hockeyroos squad when it was announced last week. 

Pearce receives her opportunity after pressing her claim over the past two years. 

Head Women's Coach of the VIS' Women's Hockey Program, Tim Strap says that he is "really pleased to see Laura, Amy, Sophie and Ashlee re-selected into the 2021 squad and is very excited to see Meg Pearce, who has been based in Brisbane for the last few years get an opportunity at the National level." 

Video: Together for Tokyo with Amy Lawton 

Meanwhile, Johan Durst, Josh Simmonds and Nathan Ephraums have all been re-selected into the 2021 Kookaburras squad. 

After a year like no other due to the COVID pandemic which saw the Kookaburras play just eight international matches and not one since early March, Kookaburras Head Coach Colin Batch said eyes were now firmly on being primed for Tokyo in July.

“All of the players selected are excited about being in the pre-Olympic squad,” said Batch. 

“We are looking forward to getting back to playing international matches and having that focus of the Olympics…it is getting closer.”

“Further to Tokyo, the selection of this squad is also about starting to target the 2022 Commonwealth Games and 2024 Olympics in Paris.

See all our partners

VIS is proudly sponsored by