Seven named in Steelers squad

The 12-strong Australian Steelers squad for Rio 2016 was officially announced today by the Australian Paralympic Committee, with seven VIS athletes named in the squad.

The Steelers’ line-up includes eight members of the gold medal team from London 2012 as well as VIS debutants Ben Fawcett, Jayden Warn and Matt Lewis.

London 2012 veterans Andrew Harrison, Josh Hose and Jason Lees return for their second Games appearance, while Naz Erdem is set to make his fifth Paralympic appearance.

Australian coach Brad Dubberley believes it is a side very capable of winning back-to-back Paralympic gold medals.

“We obviously set the benchmark in London 2012, but I think this team gives us more depth than we have ever had,” Dubberley said.

Kate McLoughlin, Chef de Mission of the Australian Paralympic Team, said she can’t wait to see the Steelers hit the court in their first match against Great Britain on September 14.

“The Steelers have lifted the benchmark for wheelchair rugby globally in recent years, and I have not doubt they will do the same in Rio,” McLoughlin said.

Photo Credit: Australian Paralympic Committee

See all our partners

VIS is proudly supported by